Drupal - Content Management

Add a Page/Story

  • Once logged in, Click on the ‘Create Content’ link as shown below:

384

  • Choose the type of the content to be created. Select “Page” to add a web page and select “Story” to add an Announcement. Note: Announcements might be a feature available only upon request to the site developers/administrators.
 
385
  • Enter a suitable Title for the page in the ‘Title’ area. This will show up in the browser title bar as well as at the top of your created page.
  • Enter content for the page using the ‘Body’ area. The Body area has a set of rich text editor tools supported by the FCKEditor. More detailed documentation of the editing tools can be found in section 4.
  • Create a new revision by checking the “Create New Revision” option under the “Revision” section. This information is used as a reference for future users if it is necessary to revert back to an earlier version of the page’s content.
 
386
  • When creating a page, Drupal by default assigns a generic name for the page which looks like ‘node/128” (128 being the id for the page in this example). This results in a web address of www.domain.com/node/128. To make your page easier to find and link to, use the ‘URL Alias’ section and enter an alias for the page being created. For example if the page being created is related to registration, ‘register’ could be a suitable alias. Drupal then automatically refers the page as ‘www.domain.com/register’. Note: the alias could even involve a suitable extension such as register.php, register.html, register.asp, etc.
387
  • Under the ‘Publishing’ section, make sure the option ‘Published’ is checked if you wish to make the page public. If unchecked, only users who are only logged in to the site can view the page.
388
  • The final step is to hit either the “Preview” button to get a preview of your page before it is published to the site, or if you are ready for it to be added to the site hit the “Save” button and it will be published.
 

Edit a Page/Story

  • There are two ways of opening a page in the Edit mode:
  • Option 1:
    • Click on the “Content” link under the “Content Management” section from the administrative menu to see a list of all the pages.
    • Click on the “Edit” link next to the title of the page that needs to be edited.
  • Option 2:
    • While viewing a page when logged in, there will be multiple tabs at the top of the page. Click on the Edit Tab to open the page in Edit mode.
 
389
  • Once the page is in Edit mode, make the necessary changes.
  • Create a new revision describing your changes before saving the page (As described in the “Add a Page” section).   This allows future users to see what was changed, and revert to a previous version of the page’s content if necessary.
 
390
 
  • Hit “Preview” to view your changes and make sure there are no mistakes. If you are satisfied with your changes hit “Save” to publish them to the site. (Note: be sure to save after previewing your changes. If you simply hit preview and leave the edit page, the changes will be lost.)
 

Delete a Page/Story

  • If you have permission to delete pages on your site, all editable pages will have a "Delete" tab at the top of the page next to the "View" and "Edit" tabs.  When you decide you want to remove a page from you site, click the "Delete" tab and it will take you to a confirmation page.  Confirm you do indeed want to delete the selected page, and at that point the page will be removed from the site and sent to the "Junk" bin.  The Junk bin is an area accessible only to site administrators, where a page will be held for 30 days during which time it can be restored to the site if necessary.
  • If you have deleted a page on accident and need it to be restored, place a help ticket by emailing help-sites@bmi.cchmc.org, explaining your situation and what page you need to have restored to your site.
 

Revert Page/Story to Previous Version

  • Navigate to the page that you wish to revert t a previous version.
  • Select “Revisions” from the tabs at the top of the page

391

From the list of revisions choose the desired version and click on the “Revert” link. That page will change back to the content that existed when that revision was created.

 
392
 
not-front not-logged-in node-type-page no-sidebars page-services-hosting-drupal-content-management section-services page-services-hosting-drupal-content-management section-services taxonomy-hosting